loading map...
Fast Facts
Land management
Country
Kazakhstan
Russia
Funding period
01.08.2017 - 31.12.2021
Funding volume
1.841.395 €
Funding reference number
01LZ1704A-E
Contact

Coordinator: Leibniz Universität Hannover - Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Contact Person: Prof. Dr. Georg Guggenberger

Address: Herrenhäuser Straße 2, 30419 Hannover

Phone: +49 511-762 2623

Email: guggenberger@ifbk.uni-hannover.de

 

Project partners

  • Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung GmbH, Leipzig-Halle
  • Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Hasbergen
  • Umwelt-Geräte-Technik GmbH, Müncheberg

 

Project partners in Kazakhstan and Russia

  • Baraev Institute of Cereal Research, Shortandy (Kazakhstan)
  • Seifullin Kazakh Agrotechnical University, Nur-Sultan (Kazakhstan)
  • Kostanay State Pedagogical University, Kostanay (Kazakhstan)
  • TOO Fermer 2002, Pervomayka, (Kazakhstan)
  • TOO Amazone Kazakhstan, Nur-Sultan, Altai State Agrarian University, Barnaul (Russia)
  • OOO Partnior, Poluyamki (Russia)
ReKKS

ReKKs - Innovations for Sustainable Agricultural Resource Use and Climate Adaptation in the Dry Steppes of Kazakhstan and Southwestern Siberia

In the dry steppe regions of Kazakhstan and southwestern Siberia, problems caused by soil degradation, climate change and changes to land use are making innovations for the sustainable use of agricultural resources a necessity. In the ReKKS project, German, Kazakh and Russian partners are working closely with local partners to develop innovative, sustainable and climate-friendly agricultural concepts and procedures for reducing soil erosion and improving water, nutrient and carbon balances and - on degraded soils - steppe recultivation and applying these concepts and procedures.

Challenges of the dry steppes

Securing food production is one of humanity's greatest challenges. This is also evident in many arable land sites in southern Siberia and northern Kazakhstan, which lie in arable land bordered by drought areas. In addition to the lack of water, the local soils are also characterised by poor nutrient levels, humus losses and related soil degradation.

Given the fact that soils are limited as the main resources for food production, ReKKS's philosophy is that the use of land must be sensibly intensified both ecologically and sustainably. In this context, technical intensification means increasing cultivation with soil-conserving processing and nutrient efficiency. With this goal in mind, the project is addressing the challenging farming situation in southern Siberia and northern Kazakhstan. The overall objective is the development of tailor-made agricultural technology and agricultural concepts. Specifically, ReKKS is developing agricultural machinery for ultra-flat cultivation and targeted application of herbicides and liquid fertilisation. In addition, the project is developing concepts for the restoration of degraded areas. ReKKS is quantifying the effects of different land and soil management processes on soil erosion, the water balance, carbon balance and nitrogen cycle and the efficiency of use through accompanying scientific research on experimental areas and farms. The project is in part using specially developed instruments (e.g. weighing lysimeters) for this purpose.

The project partners are expecting comprehensive insights into the mechanisms and control parameters of ecologically and economically sustainable agricultural use of the dry steppes. The results of the project should contribute to higher agricultural yields while at the same time increasing yield security and improving the competitiveness of the companies involved - the latter not only in the Russian and Central Asian markets, but worldwide.

Einsatz von Flüssigdüngungsverfahren im Projektgebiet. © Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Tobias Meinel
Use of liquid fertilisation methods in the project area © Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Tobias Meinel

 

 

Compatibility of ecology and economy

From the results, the project participants hope to gain new comprehensive insights into the mechanisms and control parameters for land use of the dry steppes which both saves resources and is ecologically and economically sustainable.

 

By combining improved soil cultivation, fertilisation and increasing soil water retention, it is possible to increase soil humus populations. This can restore the function of steppe soils as important long-term sinks for climate-effective carbon dioxide. The increase in soil humus will also improve soil fertility, which will significantly increase crop yields. The herbicide application reduction techniques to be developed can minimise the associated environmental damage and protect the health of the population.

Direktsaatverfahren schont den Boden und ist ökonomisch erfolgreich. © Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Tobias Meinel
Direct sowing protects the soil and results in economic success.© Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Tobias Meinel

 

Establishment of climate-adapted agricultural techniques

Overall, it is expected that the implementation of the project results for the establishment of innovative, climate-adapted agricultural techniques will improve the livelihood of people living in the steppe areas.

The potential importance of the results goes beyond Central Asian countries. In Central Europe in particular, dryness during the growing season is increasingly becoming a problem and the future legal restrictions of herbicide application will also increase the demand for ultra-flat cultivation and the precise application of herbicides.

Interview with the project coordinator of ReKKS

Image
Prof. Dr. Guggenberger im Interview
In a short video clip, Prof. Dr. Georg Guggenberger from the CLIENT II project ReKKS explains the lessons learned so far, his experiences with the local partners and how networking between the project participants can be successful.

loading map...
Fast Facts
Image
Logo ReKKS
Landmanagement
Regionaler Schwerpunkt
Kasachstan
Russland
Laufzeit
01.08.2017 - 31.12.2021
Fördervolumen
1.841.395 €
Förderkennzeichen
01LZ1704A-E
Download
Kontakt

Koordinator: Leibniz Universität Hannover - Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Ansprechpartner: Prof. Dr. Georg Guggenberger

Adresse: Herrenhäuser Straße 2, 30419 Hannover

Tel.: +49 511-762 2623

E-Mail: guggenberger@ifbk.uni-hannover.de

 

Projektpartner in Deutschland:

  • Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung GmbH, Leipzig-Halle
  • Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Hasbergen
  • Umwelt-Geräte-Technik GmbH, Müncheberg

 

Projektpartner in Kasachstan und Russland:

  • Baraev Institut für Getreideforschung, Shortandy
  • Seyffulin Agrotechnische Universität, Nur-Sultan
  • Kostanay State Pedagogical University, Kostanay
  • TOO Fermer 2002, Pervomayka
  • TOO Amazone Kasachstan, Nur-Sultan
  • Altaier Staatliche Agraruniversität, Barnaul
  • OOO Partnior, Poluyamki
ReKKS

Innovationen für nachhaltige landwirtschaftliche Ressourcennutzung und Klimaanpassung in Trockensteppen Kasachstans und Südwestsibiriens

In den trockenen Steppenregionen Kasachstans und Südwestsibiriens erfordern durch Bodendegradation, Klimawandel und Landnutzungsänderungen bedingte Probleme Innovationen für eine nachhaltige Nutzung der landwirtschaftlichen Ressourcen. Im Projekt ReKKS entwickeln deutsche, kasachische und russische Partner in enger Kooperation mit lokalen Partnern innovative, nachhaltige und klimagerechte landwirtschaftliche Konzepte und Verfahren hinsichtlich Bodenerosionsminderung, der Verbesserung des Wasser-, Nährstoff- und Kohlenstoffhaushalts sowie – auf degradierten Böden – der Steppenrekultivierung und bringen diese in Anwendung.

Herausforderungen der Trockensteppe

Die Sicherung der Nahrungsmittelproduktion ist eine der größten Herausforderungen der Menschheit. Diese zeigt sich auch an vielen Ackerbaustandorten Südsibiriens und Nordkasachstans, die an der trockenheitsbedingten Ackerbaugrenze liegen. Neben Wassermangel sind die dortigen Böden zusätzlich durch schlechte Nährstoffausstattung, Humusverluste und damit zusammenhängender Bodendegradation gekennzeichnet.

Vor dem Hintergrund, dass die Böden als Hauptressourcen für die Nahrungsmittelproduktion begrenzt sind, vertritt ReKKS die Philosophie, dass die Nutzung des Landes nachhaltig und ökologisch sinnvoll intensiviert werden muss. Eine technische Intensivierung bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang eine bodenschonende Bearbeitung und Nährstoffeffizienz erhöhende Bewirtschaftung. Mit diesem Ziel adressiert das Projekt die herausfordernde Ackerbausituation in Südsibirien und Nordkasachstan. Übergeordnetes Ziel ist die Entwicklung maßgeschneiderter Landtechnik und Ackerbaukonzepte. Konkret entwickelt ReKKS Landmaschinen für die ultraflache Bodenbearbeitung und gezielte Anwendung von Herbiziden und Flüssigdüngung. Außerdem entwickelt das Projekt Konzepte für die Renaturierung degradierter Flächen. ReKKS quantifiziert die Auswirkungen der unterschiedlichen Land- und Bodenbewirtschaftung auf Bodenerosion, Wasserhaushalt, Kohlenstoffhaushalt und Stickstoffkreislauf bzw. Nutzungseffizienz durch wissenschaftliche Begleitforschung auf Versuchsflächen und in landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben. Dafür verwendet das Projekt teilweise eigens weiterentwickelte Instrumente (z.B. Wägelysimeter).

Die Projektpartner erwarten umfassende Erkenntnisse über die Mechanismen und Steuerungsparameter einer ökologisch und ökonomisch nachhaltigen landwirtschaftlichen Nutzung der Trockensteppe. Die Projektergebnisse sollen einen Beitrag zu höheren landwirtschaftlichen Erträge bei gleichzeitig erhöhter Ertragssicherheit sowie zu einer verbesserten Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der beteiligten Unternehmen leisten – letzteres nicht nur auf dem russischen und zentralasiatischen Markt, sondern weltweit.

Einsatz von Flüssigdüngungsverfahren im Projektgebiet. © Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Tobias Meinel
Einsatz von Flüssigdüngungsverfahren im Projektgebiet. © Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Tobias Meinel

Vereinbarkeit von Ökologie und Ökonomie

Von den Ergebnissen erhoffen sich die Projektnehmer umfassende neue Erkenntnisse über die Mechanismen und Steuerungsparameter einer ressourcenschonenden sowie ökologisch und ökonomisch nachhaltigen Landnutzung von Trockensteppen.

Durch die Kombination von verbesserter Bodenbearbeitung, Düngung und steigenden Bodenwassergehalten ist es möglich, die Bodenhumusbestände zu erhöhen. Dadurch kann die Funktion von Steppenböden als wichtige Langzeitsenken für klimawirksames Kohlendioxid wiederhergestellt werden. Der Anstieg der Bodenhumusbestände wird zudem die Bodenfruchtbarkeit verbessern, sodass die landwirtschaftlichen Erträge deutlich gesteigert werden können. Die zu entwickelnden Techniken zur Reduzierung der Herbizidanwendung können die damit verbundenen Umweltschäden minimieren und die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung schützen.

Direktsaatverfahren schont den Boden und ist ökonomisch erfolgreich. © Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Tobias Meinel
Direktsaatverfahren schont den Boden und ist ökonomisch erfolgreich. © Amazonen-Werke H. Dreyer GmbH & Co. KG, Tobias Meinel

Etablierung klimaangepasster Agrartechniken

Insgesamt wird erwartet, dass die Umsetzung der Projektergebnisse zur Etablierung innovativer, klimaangepasster Agrartechniken die Lebensgrundlage der in den Steppengebieten lebenden Menschen verbessern wird.

Die potentielle Bedeutung der Ergebnisse geht über die zentralasiatischen Länder hinaus. Gerade in Mitteleuropa wird Trockenheit während der Vegetationsperiode ein zunehmendes Problem und die zukünftigen gesetzlichen weiteren Einschränkungen von Herbizidapplikation werden auch hier die Nachfrage nach ultraflacher Bodenbearbeitung und der punktgenauen Herbizid-Applikation fördern.

 

Interview mit Projektkoordinator von ReKKS

Image
Prof. Dr. Guggenberger im Interview
In einem kurzen Videoclip erläutert Prof. Dr. Georg Guggenberger vom CLIENT II Projekt ReKKS die bisherigen Lessons Learned, seine Erfahrungen mit den Partnern vor Ort und wie die Vernetzung zwischen den Projektbeteiligten gelingen kann.